An automatic pet feeder for cats is an easy buy. For dogs it’s harder, because several of these machines are built around a cat-sized meal. Here are eight feeders compared on what the listings bury: what each maker says it suits, the biggest meal it serves, whether it takes wet food, what happens in a blackout, whether it can stop one pet eating another’s dinner, and who honours the warranty in Australia.
For a cat on dry food, buy the PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder. It holds 5L, serves up to about 4 cups a meal, works on 2.4GHz or 5GHz Wi-Fi, keeps feeding on D batteries in a blackout, and PETLIBRO’s Australian store publishes 24 months of warranty.
For a small or medium dog, buy the PetSafe Smart Feed. PetSafe is the only maker here that names medium dogs. It serves up to 4 cups a meal from a 24-cup hopper and has a Slow Feed setting. The catch is one year of warranty.
For wet food on a timer, look at the PaWz 6-Meal Chilled Wet and Dry Feeder, with ice packs PaWz say keep food fresh for up to 24 hours. It runs over Bluetooth, so you set it at home, not from work. And for a large dog, nothing on this page is built for you. We say why below.

PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder
5L hopper, dual-band Wi-Fi, D-battery backup. 24 months on PETLIBRO’s Australian store.

PetSafe Smart Feed
Rated for small to medium dogs. Up to 4 cups a meal, Slow Feed setting. 1 year.

PaWz 6-Meal Chilled Wet and Dry Feeder
Six trays over ice packs. Bluetooth only, battery powered.
Not sure which one fits your pet?
4 quick questions, then only the robots that fit.
The eight compared on what actually goes wrong
| Feeder | Maker says it suits | Biggest meal | Food it takes | Holds | If the power goes out | Wi-Fi | Australian warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder |
Small or medium petsSmall dogs, cats, rabbits | 50 portionsAbout 4 cups | Dry onlyKibble 2 to 15mm | 5L | Keeps feeding on 3 x D batteriesWi-Fi off on battery | 2.4GHz and 5GHz | 24 monthsPETLIBRO Australian store |
PetSafe Smart Feed |
Cats, small to medium dogs | 4 cups946mL, Slow Feed option | Dry or semi-moistKibble size not published | 24 cups5,678mL | Backup battery optionBattery type not on the AU page | 2.4GHz only | 1 yearRadio Systems Australia |
PETLIBRO One RFID Smart Feeder |
Small or medium petsLid opens for one tag | Not published | Dry onlyKibble 2 to 15mm | 3L | Keeps feeding on 3 x D batteriesWi-Fi off on battery | 2.4GHz and 5GHz | 24 monthsPETLIBRO Australian store |
PaWz 6-Meal Chilled Wet and Dry Feeder |
Not statedSold as a pet feeder | About 100g a trayFrom PaWz’s own images | Wet or dry | 6 trays | Runs on batteries anywayTwo battery types published | Bluetooth only | Usually 1 yearPaWz warranty page |
PETKIT Fresh Element SOLO |
Cats, small-breed dogs | 50g | Dry and freeze-driedKibble under 12mm | 3L | Keeps feeding on AAA batteriesBatteries bought separately | 2.4GHz only | 12 monthsPETKIT Australia |
PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper 2 |
Cats, small-breed dogs | About 100g | Dry and freeze-driedKibble under 12mm | 2L + 3L | Keeps feeding on 4 x D batteriesCamera off on battery | 2.4GHz and 5GHz | 24 monthsPETKIT Australia |
PaWz Pet Smart Feeder with Camera 6L |
Cats and dogsNo size limit published | About 200g20 servings of about 10g | Dry onlyKibble 2 to 12mm | 6L | Battery backupBattery type not stated | 2.4GHz only | Usually 1 yearPaWz warranty page |
SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder |
PetsNo size limit published | No timer400ml bowl | Wet or dry | 400ml bowl | Runs on 4 x C batteries anywayAbout 6 months a set, as published | None on this model | 3 yearsSure Petcare Australian site |
Every figure above comes from the maker’s own Australian product page or Australian warranty terms, as published. Where a maker publishes nothing, the table says so. We do not show prices, because they move and the page would be wrong within a week.
Not one maker on this page rates its feeder for a large dog. The biggest meal any of them publishes is about 4 cups. There are large-capacity dog feeders on Amazon Australia, but the ones we found were not from any brand with an Australian page we could check a specification or a warranty against, so we have left them out rather than compare them on listing claims alone. If you have a labrador or a kelpie, a feeder built around a cat-sized meal is the wrong tool.
The feeders

The Granary does the plain job well and makes the fewest demands on your house. PETLIBRO’s Australian store lists a 5L hopper, up to 10 meals a day, and portions of 1 to 50 servings, each about 20ml or roughly 10g. PETLIBRO put the top end at about 4 cups a meal. It takes dry food from 2mm to 15mm across, the joint largest kibble size published on this page.
Two details matter more than the capacity. It connects on 2.4GHz or 5GHz, so it will join whatever your router broadcasts. And it runs on a 5V adapter with a backup of three alkaline D batteries. In a blackout it keeps serving meals on schedule; PETLIBRO say the Wi-Fi, record button and reset button switch off to save the batteries, and not to use rechargeables.
PETLIBRO describe it as best for small or medium pets and give small dogs, cats and rabbits as examples. One inconsistency on the Australian page: the headline says up to 10 meals a day, while an answer lower down says up to 6. We have gone with 10, the figure in the specification.
Who it suits: one or two cats on dry food, or a small dog, in a house where you want meals served on time whether or not you are home.
- Works on 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi
- Kibble up to 15mm, joint largest published here
- 24 months, twice PETKIT’s SOLO
- Dry food only
- Two different meals-per-day figures on its own Australian page
- No camera, if you want to watch
Australian warranty: 24 months · PETLIBRO, as published on its Australian store
At least three PETLIBRO feeders on Amazon Australia carry the Granary name: the Granary, the Granary 2, and the Granary with Camera. They are different machines. The specifications and the button on this page are for model PLAF103, the 5L Wi-Fi Granary without a camera. Read the full listing title before you buy.

PetSafe Australia sell this as a dog and cat feeder and say it is best for cats and small to medium dogs. That makes it the only feeder on this page whose maker names medium dogs. It holds 24 cups (5,678mL) and serves meals from 1/8 cup to 4 cups, up to 12 times a day.
The Slow Feed setting spreads a meal over 15 minutes, which PetSafe pitch at pets that eat too fast. It takes dry or semi-moist food, the lid, hopper, bowl and holder go in the top rack of the dishwasher, and PetSafe say it works with Alexa. It needs a 2.4GHz router.
Two gaps. The Australian page says there is a backup battery option and that batteries are not included, and does not say what type. And the warranty is the shortest published here: PetSafe’s Australian terms give one year by default, and feeders are not among the lines it names for two or three years. The Granary serves the same 4 cups a meal with 24 months, if your dog is on the small side.
Who it suits: a small to medium dog, or a cat and a dog on the same dry food.
- The only maker here that names medium dogs
- Joint biggest meal here, from a 24-cup hopper
- Slow Feed setting and dishwasher-safe parts
- One year of warranty
- Backup battery type and kibble size limits not published on the Australian page
Australian warranty: 1 year · Radio Systems Australia
PETKIT say the YumShare Dual-Hopper 2 can recognise up to 20 pets. That tells you who ate. It does not close the bowl on the wrong one, and neither does the PaWz camera feeder. Only two machines on this page physically keep one pet out: the PETLIBRO One RFID, which opens for a collar tag, and the SureFeed, which opens for a microchip.

This is a scheduled feeder with a lock on the bowl. PETLIBRO’s Australian page says the reader checks the pet’s collar tag before the lid unlocks and food is served. So the greedy cat, or the dog that finishes its own bowl and moves on to the cat’s, finds a closed lid.
Read the tag rules before you buy. PETLIBRO say the reader works only with its own collar tag, not with microchips or other brands’ tags, and each feeder syncs with one tag. Two pets means two feeders, at least 25cm apart, and the RFID reader mat has to be in place or recognition fails.
Everything else follows the Granary: dry food from 2mm to 15mm, 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi, three D batteries as a backup, and 24 months of warranty on the Australian store. The hopper is smaller at 3L and PETLIBRO do not publish a maximum meal. They say it suits small or medium pets. The tag weighs 4.2g, needs no charging, and is splashproof, not waterproof.
Who it suits: a multi-pet house where one animal is on a diet or a prescription food, or is being bullied off its bowl.
- Scheduled feeding and a locked bowl in one machine
- Tag needs no charging
- 24 months on the Australian store
- One tag per feeder, so one feeder per pet
- Will not read microchips
- No maximum meal published
Australian warranty: 24 months · PETLIBRO, as published on its Australian store

This is the only timed feeder on this page that takes wet food. Six sealed trays, cooled by ice packs, are served on a schedule you set. PaWz say the ice packs keep food fresh for up to 24 hours, and their own product images put each tray at about 100g and list wet, freeze-dried, canned and dry food.
It connects over Bluetooth to the Tuya Smart app, which PaWz describe as close-range operation. In practice that means setting it up at home: Bluetooth does not reach your phone at work.
It runs on batteries alone, so a blackout makes no difference. PaWz disagree with themselves on which ones: the specification and the product images say 4 x AA, the description says four D-size. Check the manual when it arrives. PaWz do not say what size of pet it suits; at about 100g a tray, it is a cat or small dog feeder.
Who it suits: a cat or small dog on wet food, fed while you are out for the day.
- Wet food on a timer, with ice packs
- No power point needed
- Sealed trays
- Bluetooth only, no changes from work
- Two different battery types published
- Warranty page is written for PaWz’s own store
Australian warranty: usually 1 year · PaWz, as published on its warranty page

The SOLO is a compact app feeder, 31.6 x 29.6 x 16.7cm, with a stainless steel bowl and a 3L hopper. PETKIT Australia say that is about 1.33kg of food, enough for an adult cat for 15 days. It serves up to 10 meals a day of 10g to 50g each, and PETKIT say it suits cats and small-breed dogs.
It takes dry kibble under 12mm and freeze-dried food under 9mm, and PETKIT ask that freeze-dried stays under 20% of a portion. It connects over 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, keeps to its schedule if the Wi-Fi drops, and carries on through a power cut on AAA batteries you buy separately.
The catch is the warranty. PETKIT Australia’s policy gives 12 months as standard and lists 24 months only for its camera feeders, the YumShare Solo, Solo 2, Dual Hopper and Dual Hopper 2. The SOLO is not on that list.
Who it suits: one cat, a small kitchen or laundry, and a router that broadcasts 2.4GHz.
- Compact footprint
- Keeps its schedule offline and in a blackout
- Takes freeze-dried food as well as dry
- 12 months of warranty, half the other PETKIT and PETLIBRO feeders
- 2.4GHz only
- Smallest published meal here
Australian warranty: 12 months · PETKIT Australia

Two hoppers, 2L and 3L, let you serve two different dry foods from one machine: a main food and a treat, say, or two diets for two cats. PETKIT Australia list up to 10 meals a day of about 10g to 100g, dry kibble under 12mm and freeze-dried under 9mm, and say it suits cats and small-breed dogs. It works on 2.4GHz and 5GHz.
The camera is the reason to pay for it. PETKIT describe real-time monitoring, two-way audio, infrared night vision, and AI recognition of up to 20 pets, so the app can tell you who ate and when. On four D batteries it keeps serving meals through a blackout, but PETKIT say the camera switches off to make them last.
Two things to know first. PETKIT’s Australian page says some advanced features need a paid PETKIT Care+ subscription after the free trial, and it does not list which ones. And recognition is not access control. It records who ate; it does not shut anyone out.
Who it suits: someone away a lot who wants to see mealtimes, with cats or a small dog on dry food.
- Two hoppers for two foods
- Camera with night vision and two-way audio
- 24 months, PETKIT Australia’s longer term
- Some features need a paid subscription; PETKIT do not say which
- Camera goes dark on battery power
Australian warranty: 24 months · PETKIT Australia

If you want a camera and your pet eats more than a cat, this is the one to look at. PaWz publish a 6L hopper and 1 to 20 servings a meal, each about 10g give or take 2g, so a meal of roughly 200g. That is about twice the PETKIT camera feeder’s top portion. PaWz sell it for cats and dogs and publish no size limit.
The camera is 1080p with a 130 degree view, 4x digital zoom, night vision and two-way audio, and you can record a 10-second meal call. It takes dry food from 2mm to 12mm across, runs on a 5V adapter with a battery backup whose type PaWz do not state, and needs 2.4GHz Wi-Fi.
The spec sheet is loose. PaWz’s page says a maximum of 6 meals a day in one paragraph and up to 8 in the feature list. The Amazon Australia listing says 6, so plan on 6.
Who it suits: a small or medium dog, or a hungry cat, in a house where someone wants to watch mealtimes.
- Bigger meals than the PETKIT camera feeder
- 6L hopper
- Camera with night vision and two-way audio
- Two different meals-per-day figures published
- 2.4GHz only
- Warranty page is written for PaWz’s own store
Australian warranty: usually 1 year · PaWz, as published on its warranty page

This one is different, and it is here because it answers a question the timed feeders cannot. It is a sealed bowl that opens when a registered pet walks up, reading the microchip your pet already has, or a SureFlap collar tag (one is in the box). It remembers up to 32 pets. Every other pet finds a closed lid.
It takes wet or dry food. Sure Petcare’s Australian page puts the bowl at 400ml, or two pouches of wet food, with a split bowl for wet and dry side by side, and says the sealed bowl keeps flies off. It runs entirely on four C batteries, about six months a set as published, so a power cut changes nothing.
What it does not do is schedule anything. There is no timer and no portioning. It serves whatever you put in it, whenever the right pet arrives. It carries the longest warranty on this page: Sure Petcare’s Australian site lists 3 years for the SureFeed Microchip Feeder, with proof of purchase.
Who it suits: a pet on a prescription or wet diet in a house with other pets, where the problem is who eats, not when.
- Reads your pet’s existing microchip
- Wet or dry food
- 3 years, the longest warranty on this page
- No schedule, no portions
- No app on this model; the Connect version is the app-linked one
Australian warranty: 3 years · Sure Petcare, as published on its Australian site
Warranty periods are what each manufacturer publishes for Australia. Australian Consumer Law guarantees apply on top of them and are not limited to these periods.
What to check before you buy an automatic pet feeder
For a dog: the meal and the biscuit. Look at the biggest meal first. The Granary and the PetSafe top out at about 4 cups, the PaWz camera feeder at about 200g, the PETKIT feeders at 100g and 50g. Then measure one of your dog’s biscuits. PETLIBRO publish up to 15mm, PaWz 12mm and PETKIT under 12mm; PetSafe publish no limit.
The blackout plan. Six of the seven timed feeders keep serving meals without mains power, by their makers’ own descriptions: five on backup batteries, and the PaWz six-meal because it runs on batteries all the time. PetSafe lists a backup battery option for the seventh. That only works if the batteries are in it, and none of them lists batteries in the box. Put a set in on day one, and use the type the maker asks for: PETLIBRO specify alkaline D cells and say not to use rechargeables.
Your Wi-Fi band. The PETKIT SOLO, the PetSafe Smart Feed and the PaWz camera feeder need 2.4GHz. The two PETLIBRO feeders and the Dual-Hopper 2 take 2.4GHz or 5GHz. The PaWz six-meal uses Bluetooth, so it only talks to your phone when you are nearby.
The food itself. Five of the seven timed feeders take dry food only. The PetSafe says dry or semi-moist. For wet food on a timer, the PaWz six-meal is the one here, and its cooling is published at 24 hours.
The parts the warranty skips. PETKIT Australia’s policy lists desiccant packs and food storage components among the consumable parts it does not cover. On a feeder, the food storage is most of the machine, so keep your proof of purchase and read that clause before you claim.
Buy the Australian unit
PetSafe’s Australian terms say a product bought outside Australia or New Zealand, or from an unauthorised dealer, has to go back to where it was bought for any warranty issue. PETKIT Australia’s policy covers PETKIT products bought in Australia from PETKIT Australia or its authorised resellers. Sure Petcare asks for proof of purchase for its 3 years. PaWz’s warranty page describes cover of usually one year and is written for its own store; it does not say how a unit bought elsewhere is handled. An overseas unit that looks identical is not the same purchase for warranty purposes.
Your rights under the Australian Consumer Law apply on top of any of these warranties, whatever the brand writes. Our robot warranty guide sets out how the big robot brands compare on the same questions.
Questions people actually ask
Which automatic cat feeder is best?
For a cat on dry food, the PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder. It holds 5L, serves up to about 4 cups a meal, works on 2.4GHz or 5GHz Wi-Fi, keeps feeding on D batteries in a blackout, and PETLIBRO’s Australian store publishes 24 months of warranty. For wet food on a timer, the PaWz 6-Meal Chilled Wet and Dry Feeder, with ice packs PaWz say keep food fresh for up to 24 hours. If one cat eats the other’s dinner, see the question below on stopping food stealing.
Which automatic pet feeder is best for a dog?
For a small to medium dog, the PetSafe Smart Feed. PetSafe is the only maker on this page that names medium dogs, it serves up to 4 cups a meal from a 24-cup hopper, and it has a Slow Feed setting. The PETLIBRO Granary serves the same 4 cups a meal with 24 months of warranty against PetSafe’s one year, but PETLIBRO give small dogs as their example.
Is there an automatic feeder for a large dog in Australia?
Not one we could recommend. None of the makers on this page rate a feeder for large dogs, and the large-capacity dog feeders we found on Amazon Australia were not from any brand with an Australian page we could check a specification or a warranty against.
Can you put wet food in an automatic pet feeder like the PaWz six-meal or the PETLIBRO Granary?
In the PaWz 6-Meal Chilled Wet and Dry Feeder, yes: PaWz say its ice packs keep food fresh for up to 24 hours. Not in the Granary, which PETLIBRO say is dry food only, and the same goes for the One RFID, both PETKIT feeders and the PaWz camera feeder. The SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder takes wet food too, but has no timer.
Can I leave my cat or dog alone for two days with an automatic feeder?
A timed feeder handles the food part. PETKIT say the SOLO’s 3L hopper holds about 15 days of food for an adult cat, and the dry feeders here keep serving meals through a power cut if their backup batteries are in. Wet food is different: the PaWz cooling is published at 24 hours. None of them does anything about water, the litter tray, a dog’s walk or your pet’s health. We are not vets, so ask yours how long your pet can be left, and have someone check in.
Which automatic feeder stops one pet eating another pet’s food?
The PETLIBRO One RFID Smart Feeder and the SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder. The One RFID opens its lid for one collar tag and serves meals on a schedule. The SureFeed opens for a registered microchip or tag, remembers up to 32 pets and takes wet food, but has no timer. The PETKIT Dual-Hopper 2 and the PaWz camera feeder show you who ate but do not lock anyone out.
Does the PETLIBRO One RFID feeder read my pet’s microchip?
No. PETLIBRO say its reader works only with the PETLIBRO collar tag supplied, not with microchips or other brands’ tags, and each feeder syncs with one tag. If you want a feeder that reads the chip your pet already has, that is the SureFeed.
Do the PETKIT feeders need a subscription?
PETKIT Australia’s page for the YumShare Dual-Hopper 2 says some advanced features need a paid PETKIT Care+ subscription after the free trial. It does not say which features. The page for the Fresh Element SOLO, which has no camera, carries no such note.
What warranty do automatic pet feeders carry in Australia?
As published: SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder 3 years; PETLIBRO Granary and One RFID 24 months; PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper 2 24 months; PETKIT Fresh Element SOLO 12 months; PetSafe Smart Feed 1 year; PaWz usually 1 year, depending on the item. Australian Consumer Law rights apply on top of all of them.
Related guides
If the feeder is sorted and the litter tray is next, our automatic cat litter box guide compares self-cleaning boxes on cat weight limits, litter types and waste capacity, including PETKIT and PETLIBRO models. For the fur that comes with a cat or a dog, the robot vacuum for pet hair guide looks at which machines cope with shedding and tangles. The robot warranty guide sets out Australian warranty terms brand by brand, and our smart home explainer looks at where household robots, and the smart-home standard that links them, are heading this year. You can also browse every pet robot in the catalogue.
ServiceBot earns a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. That is how guides like this stay free and independently written, and it never affects which machines we recommend or how we rank them. See our full affiliate and research disclosure for the detail.





